Are you interested in creating an account for the "Unknown No Longer" discussion board? You will need to request an invitation code. Please email "weboffice at vahistorical.org" and put "UNL Discussion Board" in the subject line.
Flowerdew Hundred and Curles Neck
  • bcreative222bcreative222 October 2013
    My ancestors lived at Flowerdew Hundred and Curles Neck in Virginia. I have been wanting to try to trace the slaves and their families that lived there. I would like to find any relatives I might have, as well as families that were enslaved by my ancestors. It is a strange feeling to see listings, no names, of slaves owned by my ancestors. If anyone has any connections they would like to share, I would love to discuss it. The family names then would have been: Woodson, Morton, Dupuy, Watkins, Minor and Smith. I'm not sure if there are other names as well. I have a geneology chart on Ancestory.com. I'm new to it, but my father, when he was alive, did a very indepth research on both his side, and my mother's side. Thank you in advance to anyone who has any knowledge of this area and time.
    I realise I also have ancestors named Cocke, Anderson, Furbish, and Guerrant.
  • Racefield October 2013
    Hello

I am researching (and marking) slave graves on Racefield (aka Rosewood) in Prince George, VA. If you run across any information please let me know.

Wills are an excellent resource for slave names.
  • RosaVal October 2013
    bcreative222, I have some info on the Cocke family. I can't see your chart on Ancestry. Can you give me any first names, dates, etc?
    Do I make changes so you can see the chart on Ancestry.com? Here are some names and dates:

Mary Cocke Smith
    B - July 4, 1755 - Powhatan VA
    D - February 2, 1815 - Willington, Prince Edward, VA

Richard Cicke
    B - 1600 - England
    D - 1665

Mary Cocke
    B - 1690
    D - 1754

William Cocke
    B - 1655
    D - 1693
  • KIKnightKIKnight January 2014