Are you interested in creating an account for the "Unknown No Longer" discussion board? You will need to request an invitation code. Please email "weboffice at vahistorical.org" and put "UNL Discussion Board" in the subject line.
Slaves at Flowerdew Hundred & Tar Bay Plantations in Prince George Co., VA
  • lulu55 January 2012
    I believe my ancestors were slaves on the above listed plantations or other nearby plantations.. I am a novice & just starting my research. I cannot trace my ancestors before the late 1800's.
  • lulu55 January 2012
    New to this site. I'd like any information on slaves in Prince George County, along the James River.
  • Racefield February 2012
    Hi Lulu

Flowerdew Hundred was owned by the Yeardley (1600's) and Wilcox (1800's) families. J V Wilcox owned 27 slaves in the 1860 Census (Slave Schedule). M J Wilcox owned 91 slaves in the 1860 Census (Slave Schedule).

I would look at those schedules (checking to see if the ages/sexes match up to your relatives) then obtain the land owner's wills. The slaves should be mentioned as property in the wills.

On Tar Bay . . . hmmm, I know where Tar Bay Road is in Prince George, but not the plantation (it probably does not exist) . . . I would try to find out exactly where the plantation was physically located. Then do a property search to obtain the names of the former property owners. Once you acquire those names, check the Census records/Slave Schedules under the land owners name. Don't forget to check out the wills.

One last note. . . Prince George County was formed from Charles City County in the early 1700's (not sure of the exact date --- 1702???). Also, I believe there may have been a fire in Charles City. Do not let that deter you. There are tons of ways to find the information. You just have to get out the shovel and dig!!!!

Hope this helps. Let me know if you are successful. My fingers are crossed!!!!

Lulu!!!!!!

I found it!!!!!!